Skip Navigation
TSTC students and employees: OneTSTC Portal. Click here.
Texas State Technical College Governance


Texas State Technical College (TSTC) is a public institution of higher education and a state agency, established through Chapter 135 of the Texas Education Code. Chapter 135 includes general provisions and the powers and duties of the TSTC Board of Regents.

Texas Education Code Chapter 135, Texas State Technical College


Leadership Team

TSTC employs an organizational structure that best supports its vision for the next fifty years:  providing state-of-the-art technical education to place more Texans. Prior to the consolidation into a single SACSCOC accreditation in 2015, TSTC was organized into four vertically integrated colleges with a governing system office. Today it operates as a single statewide college with 10 campuses across Texas.

Concurrent with this consolidation, TSTC merged its historically fragmented administrative structure into a single, statewide leadership team. Special care was taken to apply the senior-most talent to roles that have the broadest benefit to the consolidated college. Below are the resulting titles and functional roles for our Leadership Team followed by campus leadership and the Governance, Risk and Compliance executive.


The TSTC Leadership Team includes:

Image of Reeser Mike

Image of Stuckly Elton

Image of Lawrence Gail

Michael L. Reeser
Chancellor and CEO
Waco, TX

Dr. Elton E. Stuckly, Jr.
Executive Vice Chancellor
& Chief Operations Officer
Waco, TX

Gail Lawrence
Senior Vice Chancellor
& Chief of Staff
to the Chancellor & CEO
Sweetwater, TX

Image of Miller Roger

Image of Herrera RickImage of Hoekstra Jonathan

 Roger Miller
Senior Vice Chancellor
& Chief Government Affairs Officer
Austin, TX


Rick Herrera
Vice Chancellor & Chief Integration Officer
Harlingen, TX


Jonathan Hoekstra
Vice Chancellor & Chief Financial Officer
Waco, TX


Image of Rushing RayImage of Kilgore Jeff

Image of Bettersworth Michael

Ray Rushing
Vice Chancellor & Chief Legal Officer
and General Counsel
Waco, TX



Jeff Kilgore
Vice Chancellor & Chief Marketing Officer
Waco, TX

Michael Bettersworth
Vice Chancellor & Chief Policy Officer 
Austin, TX

Campus Leadership

Provost, Harlingen Campus:
Rick Herrera, Interim

Provost, Marshall Campus:
Bart Day

Provost, North Texas Campus:
Marcus Balch

Provost, Waco Campus: 
Adam Hutchison

Provost, Abilene, Breckenridge, Brownwood and Sweetwater Campuses:
Rick Denbow, Interim-External

Provost, Williamson County:
Edgar Padilla

Governance Risk and Compliance

Tom Hooker
Executive Director:

voice: 254-867-4897
fax: 254-867-3973

Governance, Risk and Compliance Office is located at 501 Campus Drive, Waco, TX 76705.

Texas Genuine Logo
Texas State Technical College 3801 Campus Drive Waco, Texas 76705 254-799-3611
© 2018 Texas State Technical College