TSTC offers more than 50 degrees and certificates in many different areas of study.

Use the Search or A-Z Listing to find exactly what career you want to explore.
Visit Our Facebook  Visit Our Twitter  Visit Our YouTube Channel  Visit Our Instagram  More Social Media
Telecommunications Technology Advisory Committee

Texas State Technical College was created by the Texas Legislature and mandated to carry out technical and vocational training for which there is a demand in the state. In order to carry out this mandate, the College identifies technical and vocational needs and designs and develops educational programs to meet these needs. Only a combined effort by educators and industrial representatives on a continuing basis can ensure that training needs are properly identified, and training is updated in conjunction with changing developments and requirements.

To assure that these needs are correctly identified, it is imperative that representatives of the industries who employ trained personnel assist in their identification. In order to accomplish this goal, technology Advisory Committees are formed to determine these needs. Committee members serve for two-year terms and meet at least once a year.

The main function of the Telecommunications Technology Advisory Committee is to identify the knowledge and skills required for entry-level Telecommunications technicians. The input of the Advisory Committee enables the department to identify training requirements, and is mandated by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

The Telecommunications Technology Program Advisors are as follows:

  • Natividad Lopez                   AT&T      Chairperson
  • Roger Hernandez                AT&T Moblity
  • Michael Grimaldo                Avaya    
  • George Saenz                      Brownsville ISD
  • Felisa Vancise                      Brownsville ISD
  • Terry Folkerts                       CommScope
  • Terry Wolfe                            Digital Communications
  • Greg Rodgers                       Fujitsu Networks
  • Estel Alejandro                      La Feria ISD
  • Mark Villarreal                      RGV Phone Company
  • Leonel Lopez                       Starr Telecommunications ETC. Co-Chairperson
  • Rafael Adame                       Starr Telecommunications ETC.
  • Javier Martinez                    Time Warner Cable
  • Magy Lape                            Time Warner Cable
  • Richard Cavin                       Valley Telephone Cooperative
  • Marcus Ramirez                   VTX Communications


Texas State Technical College Homepage Link Texas State Technical College Homepage Link Request Information En Espanol