Skip Navigation
TSTC students and employees: OneTSTC Portal. Click here.
TSTC Receives Single Accreditation Approval

(WACO) – Texas State Technical College has achieved single accreditation through the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). Previously, the four Texas State Technical Colleges (TSTC Waco, TSTC Harlingen,
TSTC West Texas and TSTC Marshall) had been individually accredited by SACSCOC.

The decision to move towards a single accreditation, or one TSTC, was spurred by growth. TSTC now has 11 locations after expanding into new areas of the state over the last several years, with new campuses in Williamson County, Ellis County and
Fort Bend County. TSTC chose to pursue Single Accreditation for all eleven locations to better serve students and to standardize operations across the State.

“I am confident that single accreditation for TSTC will affect every part of how we serve the state and help us to successfully grow as we place more Texans,” said TSTC Chancellor and CEO Michael L. Reeser.

One TSTC allows the colleges to standardize operations and programs to gain efficiencies by eliminating duplication of work associated with separately accredited colleges, allowing the College to focus more attention on serving students. The change also provides TSTC additional flexibility to react to changes in need for technical education and to adopt best practices regardless of location.

A few of the changes already implemented include common curriculum and learning outcomes, a single course catalog and student handbook, as well as a revamped consumer-friendly website ( which launched Friday, July 10. More information about TSTC’s single accreditation can be read at: [].

About TSTC’s Accreditation

Texas State Technical College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award Associate degrees and Certificates of Completion. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Texas State Technical College.

About TSTC

Texas State Technical College serves Texas through eleven campuses in Abilene, Breckenridge, Brownwood, Fort Bend County, Harlingen, Ingleside, Marshall, North Texas, Sweetwater, Waco and Williamson County. TSTC is the only college in Texas to adopt a funding model based entirely on student employment outcomes – aligning with its purpose of strengthening Texas with a highly skilled, technically competent workforce. Founded in 1965, TSTC is celebrating 50 years of service to the State of Texas in 2015.

Written by Julie Cromeens on July 10, 2015
Texas Genuine Logo
Texas State Technical College 3801 Campus Drive Waco, Texas 76705 254-799-3611
© 2017 Texas State Technical College