facebook twitter  youtube
corner graphic
Chancellor's Excellence Award

TSTC announces 2015 Excellence Award Recipients

In the 15 years that we have awarded The Chancellor’s Excellence Awards at TSTC, less than 250 individuals have earned this honor. Below are teh 2015 honorees, who were nominated by their peers, recommended by the president of their campus, and chosen as faculty and staff who model excellence to all of TSTC.

Due to their caring and dedicated efforts, we continue to make a difference in the success of our students. Therefore, each year, we submit the names of the Chancellor’s Excellence Award recipients to the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) at The University of Texas at Austin. Honorees have the opportunity to be recognized at the annual NISOD conference in May and throughout the year at our campuses.

Janie Barron, Staff Assistant
Dan Bodnar, Department Chair Telecommunications
Elizabeth Medrano, Accounting Assistant II
Gloria Ruiz, Police Sergeant
Andrea Salas, Departmental Secretary

Benji Cantu, Director of Career Services
Eric Carithers, Instructor, Electric Utility Construction & Maintenance
Nathan Cleveland, Computer Aided Manufacturing Instructor
Danyelle Jackson, Enrollment Management Specialist
John “Rick” Phillips, Instructor

Sandra Corbett, Administrative Associate
Kacey Darnell, Career Services Associate
Kelly Filgo, Assistant Department Chair & Instructor, Aviation Maintenance

West Texas
Jan Harvey, Accountant
Kim Porter, Coordinator of Recruiting
Michael Reddin, Instructor/Program Chair
Central Administration
Bell Weeden, Associate Vice Chancellor, Financial Analysis and Budget

In 1989, NISOD hosted its first ceremony to honor and name faculty, staff, and administrators who are innovators in teaching and learning.  Early each academic year, NISOD member presidents select individuals at their colleges who have defined the best in teaching and learning practices that encourage student achievement.  These individuals are subsequently honored for their contributions at NISOD’s International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence, held each May in Austin, Texas.  From harnessing the power of social networking media to using learning communities and other mediums to make learning more accessible and meaningful, to thoughtful advising and forward-thinking leadership, NISOD Excellence Award recipients represent the best in community and technical college education.  

Lawrence G. Miller Director of NISOD says, “The Excellence Awards are an annual recognition of what is good about community and technical colleges.  Celebrating those individuals who have contributed to student success and their colleges’ mission is something we look forward to celebrating each year.”

TSTC Chancellor Mike Reeser agrees, adding “The NISOD Excellence Awards are a great way to show our faculty, staff and administrators how much they are valued for the excellent work they do –often tirelessly, often with great challenges, but just as often, to wonderful results.  I am proud of each of our honorees for representing TSTC and for their continuing efforts to ensure student success.”  

TSTC home page information request form Request Information Spanish translation