TABLE OF CONTENTS

Committee for Student Learning and Student Development [Joe Gurecky (Chair), Penny Forrest, Linda McKenna]

Committee Chair Comments					
	nute Orders: roposed MO #				
	None				
Rep	port:				
1.	TSTC Board of Regents Honor Graduates Spring 2016		2/6		
		Elton E. Stuckly, Jr.			
2.	TSTC Board of Regents Certificate of Outstanding Achiever	nent	5/6		
		Elton E. Stuckly, Jr.			



TSTC Board of Regents Honor Graduates — Spring 2016 —

TSTC in Abilene	TSTC in Brownwood (continued)		
Mr. Matt Briggs Emergency Medical Technology/Paramedicine	AAS	Ms. Marlen Longoria Software & Business Accounting Sp	CER1 pecialist
		TSTC in Harlingen	
Ms. Jena A. Landers Chemical Dependency Counseling	AAS	Mr. Roberto Gonzalez Automotive Technology	AAS
Ms. Jonee M. Miller	AAS	5	
Chemical Dependency Counseling		Mr. Cesar Gutierrez Precision Manufacturing Technolog	AAS y
Ms. Kailyn Mae Faries	CER1		
Food Service Technology		Ms. Belinda G. Longoria Education and Training	AAS
TSTC in Breckenridge		M DW TM G	
Mr. Jeffrey T. Lehman Structural Welding	CER1	Mr. Dillon T. McCameron Game and Simulation Programming	AAS
Structurar Welding		Ms. Elysa M. Chapa	AS
TSTC in Brownwood		Associate of Science Degree in Biology	
Mr. Joshua J. Barron	AAS	Ms. Gabrielle R. Ramirez	AS
Software & Business Management Accounting		Associate of Science Degree in Biology	
recounting		TSTC in Marshall	
Ms. Roxie Beaty	AAS	M I C D	A A C
Associate Degree Nursing		Mr. Jeremy C. Bean Biomedical Equipment Technology	AAS
Ms. Vanessa Enriquez	AAS		
Associate Degree Nursing		Mr. Erick S. Martin Biomedical Equipment Technology	AAS
Ms. Ashley Denae Troyer Associate Degree Nursing	AAS	Dionical Equipment Technology	

TSTC in Marshall (continued)	TSTC in Waco (continued)		
Mr. Taylor H. Thompson Multi-Craft Welding	CER2	Mr. Preston S. Campbell Instrumentation Technology	AAS
TSTC in North Texas	CER1	Mr. Joe Albert Contreras Auto Collision & Management Tech	AAS nology
Mr. William L. Brown, Jr. Combination Welding	CERI	Mr. Toure A. Drake Land Surveying Technology	AAS
TSTC in Sweetwater		M Will I F	A A G
Mr. Victor M. Diza Pipe Welding Technology	CER1	Mr. William L. Ferguson Aircraft Airframe Technology	AAS
TSTC in Waco		Mr. William L. Ferguson Aircraft Powerplant Technology	AAS
Mr. Micah J. Adare Turfgrass and Landscape Manageme	AAS	Mr. Van A. Gregg Aircraft Powerplant Technology	AAS
Mr. Zerihun M. Aferu Chemical/Environmental Laboratory Technology	AAS	Ms. Elizabeth K. Hanson Biomedical Equipment Technology	AAS
Ms. Rosa M. Araujo Environmental Technology-Complia Specialization	AAS	Ms. Elizabeth K. Hanson Biomedical Equipment Technology- Imaging	CER3 Medical
Ms. Rosa M. Araujo Occupational Safety Compliance Technology	AAS	Ms. Sarah Hartzell Chemical/Environmental Laboratory Technology	AAS
Mr. Cole Denton Barbe Air Traffic Control Technology	AAS	Mr. James Francis Haynes, IV Robotics Technology	AAS
Mr. Brenton A. Blackwell Robotics Technology	AAS	Mr. Dillon M. Kalla Aircraft Pilot Training-Airplane Specialization	AAS
Mr. Daniel C. Bristol Aircraft Airframe Technology	AAS	Mr. Mark S. Loop Biomedical Equipment Technology	AAS
Mr. Daniel C. Bristol Aircraft Powerplant Technology	AAS	Mr. Mark S. Loop Biomedical Equipment Technology- Imaging	CER3 Medical
Mr. Preston S. Campbell Electrical Power & Controls	AAS	BB	

TSTC in Waco (continued)

Mr. Andrew Grant Mariage AAS Land Surveying Technology

Mr. Joshua W. Metcalf AAS
Diesel Equipment Technology – Off
Highway Specialization

Mr. Collin D. Pope AAS
Robotics Technology

Mr. Matthew M. Sciabbarrasi AAS Network Security Technology

Mr. Matthew M. Sciabbarrasi AAS Digital Forensics Technology

Mr. Thomas E. Slovak AAS Biomedical Equipment Technology

Mr. Thomas E. Slovak AAS Biomedical Equipment Technology-Medical Imaging

Mr. Owen T. Stone AAS Turfgrass and Landscape Management

Mr. Johnathan Wm.C. Templeton AAS Welding Technology

Mr. David M. West, Jr. AAS
Electrical Power and Controls

TSTC in Williamson County

Mr. James C. Floyd AAS Welding Technology

Mr. Dean F. Bernhard CER1 Industrial Maintenance Mechanic



TSTC Board of Regents Certificate of Outstanding Achievement

2016 National SkillsUSA Championships

The following TSTC students earned two of the seven medals won by Texas post-secondary competitors.

Gold Medal in Computer Programming
 Christian Riestra, TSTC Waco
 Advisors: Jennifer Gauntt, John Washington, Susie Watkins

Gold Medal in Residential Systems Installation and Maintenance
 Marcus Crespin, TSTC Waco
 Advisors: Wayne Connally, David Macik, James Matus, Sherri Ruble, Don Sharp,
 Temple Woolls

57 of 69 students that competed placed in the top 10 at the National Championships

The TSTC Board of Regents Certificate of Outstanding Achievement will be awarded to these individuals for their recent accomplishments in national competitions.

SkillsUSA is a national organization that serves more than 300,000 high school and college students and professional members who are enrolled in training programs in technical, skilled, and service occupations. Its purpose is to help prepare America's high performance workers, emphasizing total quality at work, high ethical standards, superior work skills, lifelong education, and pride in the dignity of work.

SkillsUSA programs include local, state, and national competitions in which students demonstrate occupational and leadership skills. The philosophy of the competitions is to reward students for excellence, involve industry in directly evaluating student performance, and keep training relevant to employers' needs. In 2016, more than 6000 students competed in national competitions in 100 occupational and leadership skill areas.



TSTC Board of Regents Certificate of Outstanding Achievement

TSTC Flight Team National Intercollegiate Flight Association Champions

In May 2016, TSTC Waco NIFA flight team members *Lindsey Hurley, Aaron Gilbert, Chris Williams, Shelbylynn Hubbard, Gus Hernandez, David Burton, Sam Davidson, Daniel Shanks, Meagan Kesler and Steven Salazar* was recognized for the following achievement;

• Winning the Top Two-Year College NIFA Trophy at national competition at Ohio State University.

NIFA flight competition has been ongoing since 1929 and the purpose of this competition between four-year and two-year colleges and universities is to promote aviation, sharpen and hone pilot skills, and to challenge collegiate aviation participants be the best.

TSTC Waco's aviation program has a long tradition of NIFA team participation. Competition is fierce, with 60 colleges and universities competing at the regional level to obtain first through third place ranking, which allows entry into the national level.

The TSTC NIFA team of *Lindsey Hurley, Aaron Gilbert, Chris Williams, Shelbylynn Hubbard, Gus Hernandez, David Burton, Sam Davidson, Daniel Shanks, Meagan Kesler and Steven Salazar*, competed nationally against the top 25 teams. They came in first place in the two-year college category. Their overall national ranking against the 60 schools is 17th place. They held their own against four-year universities that had more than two years of additional flight training.

This marks the first time that TSTC's NIFA team has taken the number one spot in their category.